Silvereye Logo
 shopping cart0

The Nine Degrees of Autism: A Developmental Model For The Alignment And Reconciliation Of Hidden Neurological Conditions

$42.72  Paperback
Add to cartQuestions?

Philip Wylie, Wenn Lawson, Luke Beardon, Tony Attwood, Stephen Shore, Temple Grandin Australian author

  • The Nine Degrees of Autism
  • The Nine Degrees of Autism
    "I was rendered speechless by the profound effect it had on me ... the most awe-inspiring read you shall ever pick" Anita Lesko

182 pages
ISBN: 9781138887176

The Nine Degrees of Autism presents a much-needed positive tool for understanding the developmental process of autism, and to facilitate the improved mental health and well-being of individuals on the spectrum. The ground-breaking model charts nine distinct stages of development - from pre-identification, to learning to live with changes in self-image following a late diagnosis, through to self-acceptance and wellbeing. Using the model as a framework each chapter focuses on a particular stage of the process. Experts provide personal insights into the environmental and societal challenges faced by individuals with autism, and dispel a number of popular misconceptions.

The positive developmental model described in this book will encourage people on the Spectrum to accept themselves by focusing on their gifts rather than weaknesses, and to avoid identifying with negative medical classifications. The developmental process which the authors describe is also applicable to other ‘hidden’ neurological conditions such as Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, Aphasia, and ADHD.

The book should be read by anyone who wants to understand the real nature and experience of autism and will also be essential reading for a range of professionals seeking to work more effectively with individuals on the spectrum.

"This book is, without a doubt, the one that can change lives. It is the most awe-inspiring read you shall ever pick up, and you won't be able to put it down until the final page." - Anita Lesko

Table of Contents

Part One: The Autism Spectrum

  1. Introduction, Tony Attwood
  2. A Spectrum of Neurodevelopment, Manuel Cassanova & Emily Casanova

Part Two: The Nine Degrees of Autism

  1. The first degree of autism: Being born on the autism spectrum, Michael Fitzgerald & Philip Wylie
  2. The second degree of autism: Knowing that we are different, without understanding why, Louise Page
  3. The third degree of autism: Developing secondary health problems, Laura Battles
  4. The fourth degree of autism: Self-identification, Debra Moore
  5. The fifth degree of autism: Consideration of all Options, Stephen Shore
  6. The sixth degree of autism: Resolution to live with autism: The crisis of identity, Altazar Rossiter
  7. The seventh degree of autism: Self-acceptance and commitment in autism, Wenn Lawson
  8. The eighth degree of autism: Service to society, Sara Heath
  9. The ninth degree of autism: Recognition, mastery and unity, Temple Grandin and Debra Moore

"This is a book written for, and largely by, individuals on the autism spectrum giving accounts of personal or professional experiences of how they progressed in their understanding of, and coming to terms with, their differences from the typical majority. It is more than a heartfelt plea for more understanding and support from that majority (although it is that as well) and aims to be a kind of guide to getting through the stages of recognition, struggle and, sometimes, despair to reach the final stage of self actualization as an autistic person. It is a broadly optimistic book and I was inspired by the courage and wisdom of many of the accounts, while having a few sad memories of those on the spectrum who never reached that final stage."
- Rita Jordan, School of Education, University of Birmingham, UK

"This book has had an overwhelming effect on me. It has brought all the Degrees of Autism that I have lived through and experienced before my very eyes, and it is a MUST READ for everyone on the autism spectrum, their families, teachers, therapists, and simply, everyone. It provides the reader with a clear understanding of what we truly go through on our journey through life on the autism spectrum. It enables the autistic reader to understand where they came from, where they currently are, and where their journey may continue. Dr. Tony Attwood's Foreword is stunningly brilliant, as are all the authors who obviously put their heart and soul into their writings. I was rendered speechless by the profound effect it had on me. I burst into tears as the book takes you to a place you have never been. A place where you clearly see into yourself like never before. This book is, without a doubt, the one that can change lives. It is the most awe-inspiring read you shall ever pick up, and you won't be able to put it down until the final page."
- Anita Lesko, BSN, RN, MS, CRNA, author of Asperger's Syndrome: When Life Hands You Lemons, Make Lemonade